Mary Baldwin University recognized five exceptional student standouts for their leadership, academic record, and commitment to the university’s values at its April 7 Honors Convocation ceremony. An academic advisor and two organizations were also singled out for acknowledgment.

Elisabeth Maddrell

President’s Award

A senior from Vienna, Virginia, Elisabeth Maddrell earned the President’s Award for her commitment to diversity, compassion, personal wellness, responsibility, honor, integrity, and the Mary Baldwin campus and larger community. Students who earn this honor are role models who possess exceptional leadership qualities, affect positive change on campus, exhibit a spirit of adventure, and recognize that learning is a life-long endeavor. Maddrell is a Global Honors Scholar who serves in the Student Government Association. She recently organized the Omicron Delta Kappa T-shirt drive and was elected to Phi Beta Kappa.

Danielle McBride

Student Leadership Award

For demonstrating the ability to motivate and inspire others and effectiveness in team-building, Danielle McBride, a senior from Beckley, West Virginia, earned the Student Leadership Award. Recipients of this award have strong communication skills, balance commitments, care for themselves and others, effectively run meetings, work effectively with the faculty/staff advisor, set and accomplish goals, and show ingenuity and creativity in problem solving. McBride has served as survivorship chair for Relay for Life and is Honor Council chairwoman.

Claudia Bowen


Global Citizenship Award

Serving as a role model and serving the campus community through active involvement in Mary Baldwin organizations helped earn studio art major Claudia Bowen, a senior from Richmond, Virginia, the Global Citizenship Award. Students who earn the distinction demonstrate respect for all people and values diverse perspectives of others; they engage in service to the campus, community, nation, or world; they affect positive change; show a commitment to diversity; and embrace all members of the community with compassion. Among her many contributions, Bowen traveled to El Salvador during May Term 2010 to take part in an artistic outreach project and in January led student artists and other volunteers in painting a mural at the Valley Mission.

Courtney Waugh

Honor and Integrity Award

Upholding the principles of the Mary Baldwin Honor and Judicial codes is the hallmark trait of students who receive the Honor and Integrity Award. This year, that honor goes to Courtney Waugh, a junior from Chesapeake, Virginia. Awardees demonstrate consistency and honor in their words and actions, inform others about the college’s Honor and Judicial codes, and view honor and integrity as core values. Waugh serves as a student advocate for Hilltop Residence Hall, raising awareness about issues such as drug and alcohol abuse, campus diversity, tolerance, and conflict resolution, and advising and supporting students accused of honor or judicial violations.

Amber Wilkins

The Unsung Hero Award

Recipients of Mary Baldwin’s Unsung Hero Award are students who often do not receive public acknowledgement of their hard work. This year, Amber Wilkins, a senior from Suffolk, is recognized for serving as a role model to others and going above and beyond in her care and concern of the campus community. Wilkins is a member of the President’s Society, Career 15 Student Advisory Council, Ida B. Wells, and honor societies Alpha Lambda Delta and Omicron Delta Kappa.

Christina Daniel

Advisor of the Year

In her role as advisor to Colleges Against Cancer, Christina Daniel demonstrates a commitment to encouraging students’ academic success; helps students balance personal wellness, extracurricular commitments, and academics; encourages the group to grow and reach its full potential; shares the group’s successes and failures; and leads by example with honor, integrity, and a commitment to personal wellness. For all of these things, Daniel, access services coordinator for the Grafton Library, has been named Mary Baldwin’s Advisor of the Year.

CGIU: Changemakers for Women event in 2010

Organization Service Award

In its fourth year at Mary Baldwin, Clinton Global Initiative University (CGIU): Changemakers for Women earned the college’s Organization Service Award for providing programs and activities that link the Mary Baldwin community to outside organizations, demonstrating the potential for growth and continued service, and for making impact on the community at large through their service. The group is committed to helping at-risk women and girls and has already made great strides in fulfilling its promise to provide scholarships to women survivors of war through Women for Women International.

Greater Things Dance Ministry performance

Organization of the Year

Student-directed Greater Things Dance Ministry received the Organization of the Year award for enhancing the lives of students, cooperation between its student members, and demonstrating overall growth and increased strength of leadership. The liturgical dance ministry, inspired by African-American dance, promotes spiritual growth through movement.


Other Awards Presented at Honors Convocation

Baldwin Online and Adult Programs Loyalty Fund

John McCutcheon “Cutch” Tuttle

Diana Womack

Susan Hoar

Susan Kimberly “Kim” Long

Craig Maupin

Ian Mowbray

Leah Sowers

Linda Morrison

Ashley Dulac Award

Alexis St. Claire

Alice McCaa Class of 1976 Biology Award

Angela Gupta

Amy M. Rupe Award for Excellence in Asian Studies

Krystle Demboski

Perri Weldy

Benn Creative Writing Award

Rachel Berger

Biology Outstanding Student

Priscilla Lao

Chemistry Outstanding Student

Rachael Lam

Donald D. Thompson Memorial Scholarship

Elana Nguyen

Abbey Senn

Dorothy Mulberry Award

Brittany Shaw

Eric Matthew Brown for Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design

Shaahida Lewis

Kathryn Williams

First Year Calculus Award

Randi Beil

Selma Elsarrag

Freshman Scholar Athlete

Sophia Stone, Cross Country

Kallie Johnson, Soccer

Madeline Ogden, Soccer and Tennis

Sophie LaBelle, Softball

Alexis Meares, Softball

Freshman-Sophomore Award for Excellence in Library-Based Research

Meredith Miller

Global Honors Scholar Study Abroad Stipend

Sarah Anne Barrow

Mariah Dittrich

Michelle Jones

Krittika Krishnan

Emily Miller

Meredith Miller

Elena Nguyen

Hawa Omar

Gordon Hammock Student Mentor Award

Kathryn Carper

Health Care Administration Award

Barbara May

Mary Jane Donnalley Award

Michelle Jones

Melissa Sue Mitchell Award for May Term Study Abroad

Sarah Anne Barrow

Outstanding Communication Senior Award

Aimee Sanford

Outstanding Student Award in Business for the Baldwin Online and Adult Programs

Darcie Huntress

Outstanding Student Award in Business for the Residential College for Women

Kara Jenkins

Phi Theta Scholarship

Shannon Ware

Physics Outstanding Student

Jennifer Canon-Rothkopf

Scholar Athlete Awards

Victoria Barrett, Cross Country

Michelle Jones, Soccer

Jackie Simmons, Soccer

Rebekka Conz, Softball

Kelsey Still, Softball

Gretchen Domaleski, Tennis

Megan Pitts, Tennis

The Ulysse Desportes Award for Outstanding Achievement in Art History

Ada Sue Myers

The Ulysse Desportes Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Studio Art

Cynthia Kirkland

Miranda Hynes

Claudia Bowen

Virginia Society of CPA’s Award

Sherry Whitesell

Who’s Who

Manuela Belser

Anastasia Blake

Whitney Brooks

Quinesha Cruz

Melissa Elsey

Shannon Epps

Angelica Fleming

Allison Gordon

Angela Gupta

Caitlin Henck

Kara Jenkins

Britney Lambert

Priscilla Lao

Rachel Laux

Lindsey Leahy

Elisabeth Maddrell

Barbara May

Danielle McBride

Ada Sue Myers

Priyanka Nadar

Elena Nguyen

Naianka Rigaud

Megan Pitts

Quiana Robinson

Aimee Sanford

Courtney Waugh