The Mary Baldwin University community will celebrate an important chapter in the institution’s history with a dedication ceremony for the Murphy Deming College of Health Sciences and its flagship building on April 17.mdchs students out front

The event comes three years after announcing the new school would be named for lead donor Bertie Murphy Deming Smith ’46 during a ceremony on the hill in Fishersville where the state-of-the-art health sciences building is now located and nearly one year after the college opened the doors to its inaugural class of occupational therapy and physical therapy students.

In addition to the Mary Baldwin Board of Trustees, donors, alumni, and friends of the college, the ceremony guest list includes state Sen. Emmett Hanger and Virginia delegates Richard P. “Dickie” Bell, Ben Cline, and R. Steven Landes. U.S. Sen. Tim Kaine will deliver remarks, along with Board of Trustees Chair Jane Miller ’76, key college administrators, and two MDCHS doctoral students.

Bertie Murphy Deming Smith '46

Smith’s lead gift of $15 million helped make the college of health sciences a reality.

There will also be a special presentation to Smith and her family, a blessing for the campus, and a ribbon cutting. The college of health sciences is also celebrating further programmatic expansion with new PT and OT students arriving in June, the launch of the RN to BSN program in August, and the first class of physician assistant students starting classes in January.

Faculty and staff are invited to attend the ceremony, which will begin at 12:30 p.m. at the health sciences building on 100 Baldwin Boulevard. RSVP to Rhonda Harwley at or 540-887-7386. The general public is also invited to visit the campus from 3:30–5 p.m.

Tune in: Watch the Murphy Deming College of Health Sciences dedication ceremony live at 12:30 p.m. on April 17.